About Me

I am the forty-something mum of two school-aged kids who have never been to school. My son, Mr. Boo, was diagnosed with high-functioning autism in 2011 and one year later my daughter, Miss Em, was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome. I grew up in the suburbs and lived in big cities for most of my adult life before moving to 4 acres of quiet, wooded bliss in a small, but thriving, community off the southwest coast of Canada.

I enjoy horseback riding, quilting, homemaking, and reading. And, of course, being with my children. Aside from homeschooling, coordinating therapy schedules, and keeping house I am also involved in turning this little piece of unkempt land into a beautiful and productive homestead. We have a long ways to go yet and progress has been slow, but I am very much enjoying the journey.

After two-and-a-half years I have finally come up with a name for our place: HideAway Farm. It seems to fit given that we live at the end of a long country road, our open spaces seemingly carved out of the forest. My husband doesn’t think it clever enough but I figure since this is my personal blog I can call it what I like. 🙂

2 thoughts on “About Me

  1. Hi there,

    I was hoping you could contact me…I am a local to Vancouver Island as well, and have a few questions! (Just moved here) You seemed like the right person to ask as we seem to have similar philosophies with food & lifestyle 🙂

    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s